Steps to Becoming a Licensed Broker in Nevada
Every day more real estate agents are deciding they want the economic advantage of owning their own brokerage. Becoming a broker is a great step towards advancing the career of any real estate agent. Below we have outlined the complete set of requirements for any Nevada based realtor to get their broker's license and be well on their way to opening their own office.
Nevada Real Estate Broker’s License Requirements
- Age 18 or older
- High school graduate or GED
- Proof of completion of Pre-License Education
- 64 semester college credits required
- 45 hours or 3 college credits Real Estate Principles or licensed experience.
- 45 hours or 3 college credits Real Estate Law or licensed experience. (this includes 18 hours of Nevada law provided by a state school).
- 45 hours or 3 college credits Real Estate Appraisal course or licensed experience.
- 45 hours or 3 college credits Broker Management course (Nevada specific course).
- 15 college credits in other real estate related courses such as business, economics, management, accounting, finance, and marketing or licensed experience.
- 37 college level units from any college, military education, technical school or licensed experience.
- Submit your confidential financial statement.
- To submit proof of experience you can give a combination of both experience and education transcripts to meet the 64 semester credits. College credits must be obtained if experience is not verifiable.
- For every 2 years of real estate licensed experience, Nevada will allow 16 college credits towards the education components with the exception of the 45 hour Broker Management and 18 hour Nevada real estate law courses.
Experience in two year increments are granted the following credits:
8 years = 64 credits 4 years = 32 credits
6 years = 48 credits 2 years = 16 credits
You must submit an experience verification form.
You must provide Fingerprint cards with a cashier’s check or money order made payable to the “Department of Public Safety” OR a verification form issued by an approved Fingerprint Vendor.
Fees: Examination Fee ($100). License ($145).
80 general practice questions and 50 State Law questions; passing score for brokers is 75.
You are allowed a total of 4 hours to complete the exam.
How to Run a Successful Brokerage
Successful real estate brokerages have one thing in common. They have an organized and consistent process in their workflow. This helps owners keep track, close deals faster, and keep everyone happy, staff and customers included. A great way to do this is through Emphasys Software's Real Estate commission software; this will provide mission specific functionality that completely automates your brokerage. Our system can transform your business into the competitive and lucrative operation professionals dream of.
- Efficiently sort through paper work
- Create a consistent and manageable flow
- Lead generation
- Closings and accounting
- Helpful integrations
- Direct link with MLS
Our main goals are to help brokers save time managing day-to-day operations, get detailed insight into production data and remain in compliance with all real estate regulations. No more wondering how to set up commission structures, managing sliding scales, and real estate checklists . Emphasys Software's time-tested solution is great for satisfying all the aspects of your business needs and more.